Spanish giants Barcelona have made their intention known that they will contest the red red given to their striker Luis Suarez in their semi-final triumph over Atletico Madrid on Tuesday, February, 7, 2017 in the Copa del Rey.
Barcelona forced Atletico Madrid to a 1-1 draw in the encounter and Suarez was booked two times in which the forward is now set to miss the epic final.
PAY ATTENTION: Get the latest news on NAIJ.com News App
The club are not comfortable that Suarez will not be allowed to feature in the final, and they will appeal the decision.
Suarez who joined Barcelona from Premier League club Liverpool however explained that the referee made the wrong decision to have sent him out for his challenge on Koke.
"I'm laughing at that second yellow card, because it's not even a foul. "I did absolutely nothing. It was what he [Koke] wanted." Suarez said.
Barcelona have also confirmed that defender Javier Mascherano suffered a left thigh injury in the same game, with the club saying they did not know how long he might be out for.